My first successful Walnut Chocolate Cake

Basic Chocolate Cake
Basic Chocolate Cake

So two years ago, I had tried to make the Pillsbury readymix cake and it turned out quite okay. So I didn’t really want to mess up a cake and kept experimenting with that, as in, just add a bit more sugar, replace the water with milk etc. But I had a feeling that was not exactly making a cake as it was mixing a batter and throwing it in the microwave.

So I wanted to try something simple, like a loaf cake. I have the pan for a few months now. So here is the account of my struggle and success.

Dry ingredients

2 cups of refined flour

6 tablespoon of chocolate powder (I used my daughter’s Nesquik :))

2 cups of sugar

2 tsp of baking soda

1 1/2 tsp of baking powder

1 tsp of salt

Walnut pieces to be added just before you pour the cake batter.

Wet Ingredients

3 eggs

1 1/2 cups of full fat milk,

1 cup of water

1/2 cup cooking oil 0r

2 tsp or less of vanilla extract

Baking pan,I used the loaf one.

Butter and flour for dusting, or you can use the Pam spray or the wax paper.

Before we start we should preheat our oven to 180 degrees celsius.

First mix the dry ingredients well. Then with the wet ingredients, whisk the eggs really well, then add the oil, if you are using the butter add butter, and whisk again. Then add the vanilla extract. Then start adding the dry ingredients a little at a time and whisk as you go until you have added all of the dry ingredients., This will prevent from forming lumps. You want to aerate this batter so keep this covered for about a half an hour, while you get your baking pan ready. Once you open you can see it is dotted and it feels like thick cream, which means it is fine to go in the oven. So you add the walnut pieces.

For the baking pan, I dusted it with the butter and flour.

Then pour the cake batter into the cake pan. And move it to the oven, that has been set at for 20-25 minutes.

I was not sure if it was ready after 20 minutes, so I tried the toothpick test with a fork, haha yes, a little dough did come stuck to the fork, and so I let it stay in for 5 more minutes. Then the fork came out fine.

For the Chocolate Ganache:

I did nothing fancy with the ganache. It is just whisked nutella and melted butter. Then I used some chocolate shavings and chocolate wafers for decoration.

That’s it! So  considering this was my third only experiment with making cake from scratch, I am pleased.

Leave a Reply

