Schezwan Veggie Rolls

20170317_141837

So this is the first time we will be participating at the school fair. I had a rough plan to make cookies and cakes for the same but I was wondering if I could make something spicy or savory because that is the sort of food people would probably prefer at such an event. Eventually I settled for sauteed paneer, Schezwan Rice and Schezwan Rolls. I haven’t shared it here so here we go.

I have always loved the Chinese cuisine, but what I also love is the Indian twist we give to the traditional Chinese dishes. Here is how the Schezwan dumplings got a veggie, fried twist (perhaps our logic is why make something healthy when you can fry it?) Here is how I made this Chinese dish with its many twists.

20170317_072835

Ingredients:

For the dough:

Refined flour 3 cups, butter 2 tsps, cumin powder and salt.

For the filling: Green bell pepper 3-4, Cabbage: 1/4  kilo, Onion 2-3, Cheese: Mozzarella 2-3 cups Schezwan Sauce (I prefer Ching’s Schezwan Chutney)

20170317_084340

Knead the dough by first mixing the dry ingredients, then mixing the butter and then water for a soft but still roll-able consistency. For the filling, just julienne the onion, bell pepper and cabbage, saute in a wok, and add the grated Mozzarella Cheese. Then add the schezwan sauce and mix.

20170317_092358

Roll the flour into small puris, you can dry flour if the butter doesn’t allow you to roll them. Add spoonful of the filling and wrap the dough into a roll. 

20170317_092634

Shallow fry them and serve them hot.

20170317_104621

Leave a comment